Jessie Janeshek – 2 poems

 

Post-Haste

Sure I’d fucked up
but you’d loved me wrong
taught me no way to cock
my gun and your habit
jacked me off, let me shoot
my cokey-white urge on the moon.

We pour jumping beans
inside little horses
vacuum their backs shut
lock eyes and you know
swans only sing when you hang them
from carnival lines. You’ll die
for the money you left
inside the fat taxidermist’s raccoon.

  

She’s Naked, Named Coda

We play Satan eight days
my dishrags wiping
the strap-on she sniffs
smearing my stomach

au jus and snapping my pills.
I bark her to knees
pretending I’m Japheth
envelop the sober delicacy

cast by Fellini on screen.
The dogs are collateral
I say as I bang

dipping Andy Capp fries

in 100-proof whiskey.
She empties the basin
whispers think of the canyons
your spaniels will fill.

  

Jessie Janeshek‘s first book of poems is Invisible Mink (Iris Press, 2010). An Assistant Professor of English and Director of Writing at Bethany College, she holds a Ph.D. from the University of Tennessee-Knoxville and an M.F.A. from Emerson College. She co-edited the literary anthology Outscape: Writings on Fences and Frontiers (KWG Press, 2008).



About gobbet

gobbet is a literary magazine dedicated to publishing the very best experimental poetry and prose. Intellectual perversity and explorations of dark themes are positively encouraged. We are only interested in work that is progressively experimental. We want to see risks, and we want to see them pay. No previously published work. Prose should not be longer than 1000 words. There are always exceptions. Send 3-5 poems. Include a short bio. Send submissions to gobbetmag@hotmail.co.uk Work will be published every 5-10 days. We also intend to publish anthologies of selected work published in gobbet. We will do our best to reply promptly. Most submissions will receive a decision within a month.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

